Of Art And Understanding Art

So I’ll end this with a quote from Mr West, “if you know an artist, there’s only one thing you can say…when you see them…Thank You”

Hello vreader. How’s it going?

I was listening to “Event Horizon” by Rhyme Asylum featuring Crooked I and when it got to Kxng Crooked’s part, an idea struck me. The idea that only artists can understand other artist’s art. Whether it be painting, rhyming, football, coding or music composition. The Unsullied (here goes Vickers with Game of Thrones references again…), which refers to non-artists (in this post), can only appreciate the particular art.

To understand art you have to look beyond the aesthetic appeal to the five senses. To understand art you have to know( or at least be able to know) the reason behind the work of art. You should be able to understand the reason behind each rhyme , each brush stroke etc.

Back to Kxng Crooked’s verse, I feel that verse was a perfect verse. It didn’t lack anything. The energy matched the idea being conveyed. The rhyming style was on point and really interwoven and even all that awesomeness could not take away the concept of the song. It really is hard to nail combining technicality with content perfectly.

It reminds me of last Sunday’s “Silicon Valley” episode where Richard realised that the general public did not understand his Pied Piper app. The show has made us understand that the algorithm developed by the Pied Piper team is the best there is and this means what they created is phenomenal and should blow every one’s mind away. They made great art.

But when the platform got released to the people, they could not understand it. They had no idea what was going on. When the beta was released, only engineers gave the platform stellar review and the only Unsullied along them (Monica) said it felt “engineered”.

All these are making me have the opinion that art is not meant to be understood. Art is meant to be appreciated.

Think about it, and those Kanye West’s rants words of wisdom will make sense to you too.

So you do not have to understand why Eminem curses out famous celebrities a lot in his rhymes, or why Vickers did the first two verses of NSBA in Nigerian Pidgin or why Brymo made PNGS. The point is that it is their art and you do not have to understand.

So I’ll end this with a quote from Mr West, “if you know an artist, there’s only one thing you can say…when you see them…Thank You”

PS:

This is the Crooked I’s verse:

[Verse 4: Crooked I]
On the microphone I’m chemical explosives, mixed in high doses
Sick as psychosis and Cystic Fibrosis
Touch me and die my energy’s high voltage
When I wrote this Hennessey had my mind focused
Every rhyme I write becomes my new magnum opus
Pointing a chrome magnum at whoever rap the dopest
You cats are hopeless matter of fact, fags are bogus
Snap your neck backwards maggot, I’m that ferocious
Crooked sick in the head hit you with lead
Pistols flashing like cameras I can picture you dead
Might grab a knife stick you instead
Since he ain’t stand up nigga, the feds found him missing his legs
I’m on the balcony practising ancient alchemy 
Vest on the chest in case they try to Martin or Malcolm me
I know you think I love myself
Because this straight jacket is making me hug myself (Fuck It)

Damn, that's just cold

Author: herovickers

Just an introvert witha wide imagination

Tell me what you think about this post.

