I wrote this because I was bored (Read this in Nas’ voice)

The mechanical and electrical guys said petroleum was easy

“Okay na, wait till you see the calculations in advanced drilling

The correlations & charts… abeg argue with your Fourier Series”

It started 2012, the day was June 11 and

That was my birthday, I just turned seventeen

I remember standing on the queue for registration

Dad looking on, proud is what I vowed to make him

 

First year was so much fun, “wow, I’m an undergrad”

Meet Seez and started heating up the underground

Back to books though, ’cause MAT 111 had voluminous assignments

We had sleepless nights because all of the works were piling

 

Then tests came, we realized that this was no play

School was no fun and games like Nollywood loves to paint

Those were the good days, memories priceless, you can’t buy them

Like when I saw Tracy and my brain lost its allignment

 

Damn…it was a sunny afternoon

Her hair was blowing in the wind and she was laughing too

“Don’t fall, Vickers, don’t fall”, but I broke like a plastic spoon

Man, crushes and all…okay, okay, back to books

 

Fast forward, 200 level, the G.P. dropping session

Mechanical courses were heating up the tension

T.D almost cracked my back, waiting for the end like pension

Results “skewed” our brains to the point we invented formation

 

Then third year came, they said it would be simple

Petroleum terms were so foreign, I thought lecturers spoke in riddles

We were forming “Petrolites” but didn’t know the little-

difference between petroleum and crude oil, we learnt it all with full joy

 

The mechanical and electrical guys said petroleum was easy

Okay na, wait till you see the calculations in advanced drilling

The correlations & charts… abeg argue with your Fourier Series

400 level was stressful, we were fiending for a release

 

Got the release the moment I.T. came

Met the good, the bad and the I.T.K.s

Put in that work, man, I did put in that work

It was as sweet as a song by a nightingale

 

…that was until I heard the news

“Oh God, please this can’t be true!”

Facebook posts saying that we lost Olu

I was in shock and I didn’t know what to do

 

…but that’s life

Rest in peace to the brothers who ascended past life

It’s a jungle out here, we’re never quitting that fight

Well I.T. ended, and in a blink of an eye, it’s part five

 

IT defence, project defence

Defence on defence, I’d rather sit on the fence

We were counting the days because our freedom was near

With smiling faces, the joy was too much to bear

 

Final exams came, our black and yellow jackets would make Khalifa jealous

We poured water, turned the school upside down, nothing they can tell us

This is the result of hard work, zeal and persistence

Three fingers in the air, so…free from the system

 

hiiipower__chocolate___ipad_wallpaper_by_yumgsta-d4rx9ym

 

 

herovickers

 

So…the title is unconventional. I wanted to name the post either of the two of them but I could not make up my mind.

Read it in Nas’ voice and it’ll make so much sense, it’ll be like Nas’ ‘Memory Lane (Sittin’ in Da Park).

Oh and I was superbored when I wrote it.

This is like what you’d write if your lecturer told you to give a summary of your five years stay in school in 449 words.

So…ciao.

 

 

 

 

 

 

Author: herovickers

Just an introvert witha wide imagination

Tell me what you think about this post.

